Ten Books To Read If You Like The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme by The Broke And The Bookish, and will be a feature on Emma, the Bibliophile-Librarian. In Top Ten Tuesday I make lists of books, because I love books and I love lists. Here at the Bibliophile-Librarian, I cannot guarantee that it will always be posted on a Tuesday, but I will try.


I have started collecting Rick Riordan’s books, and am also taking a class about Reader’s Advisory, so I am learning about reading appeal. I love Riordan’s books and I wanted to explore what other read-a-likes are out there.

Top10 Percy Jackson

1. The Iron Trial/Magisterium Series by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare: These two books remind me so much of each other, but are different enough that they don’t feel like copies. Both fantasy novels feature similar main characters, who have insecurities but put on a lot of bravado. Both Percy and Callum also have disabilities: Percy has ADHD, Callum is partially lame from a childhood injury.

Print

2. The False Prince/The Ascendance Trilogy by Jennifer A. Nielsen: Both books are fast-paced, with attention grabbing writing. You can’t put either book down! While The False Prince takes place in the past and is a Young Adult novel, and Percy Jackson is a modern-day middle grade story, the books feature a mouthy, funny protagonist.

3. The Game by Diana Wynne Jones: This YA novel and the Lighting Thief both feature excellent world building, and use fantasy elements draw from Greek mythology. Jones’ novel is setting-driven, whereas Percy Jackson is story-driven.

4. The Shadow Thieves/The Cronus Chronicles Series by Anne Ursu: Both these fantasy stories are fast paced and action-packed, and include Greek mythology. In Ursu’s story, the characters must journey into Hades’ underworld. Both series contain a lot of humour about the situation their characters are in.

Untitled-1-03-03

5. Into the Wild/The Warriors Series by Erin Hunter: These middle grade novels have an attention-grabbing writing style that keeps you reading. Although their subject matter is different, courage and loyalty are two themes that arch both stories.

 6. Moving Target by Christina Diaz Gonzalez: In Moving Target, a girl living in modern-day Rome finds out she is the target of a secret organization because of her bloodline. Both of these middle grade fantasies are action-packed and fast-paced, featuring young pre-teens on a quest for a mythical object, and a main character who discovers their background is not what they thought (Percy discovers he is the son of a god, Cassie discovers she is a member of an ancient bloodline meant to protect a legendary spear).

7. Of Giants and Ice/The Ever Afters series by Shelby Bach: Both novels explore what would happen if fantasy element became real. The Ever After school program is for children destined to star in a fairy tale, and Percy Jackson attends summer camp for the children of Greek Gods. The two fantasy novels are fast-paced, feature a trio, and explore children coming into their own.

8. Loki’s Wolves/The Blackwell Pages Series by K.L. Armstrong & M.A. Marr: Both novels are action packed and fast-paced, feature Norse mythology and gods. This novel apparently aims at a younger audience.

 9. And, of course, Rick Riordan’s other series: The Heroes of Olympus, Kane Chronicles, Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s